Housing Quality Standards (HQS)

Housing Quality Standards Inspection

Federal funds cannot be used to subsidize housing that is not decent, safe and sanitary. Housing Quality Standards are established by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to guarantee a basic level of health and safety for all units leased under the Section 8 Voucher Program. Descriptions are found in the regulations 24 CFR Part 982.401 and in Chapter 5 of HUD Handbook 7420.7.

When the voucher holder finds a unit that is suitable, and the owner has agreed to lease the unit to the family, the family and the owner will complete the Request for Tenancy Approval form and submit it to the City of Douglas Public Housing Authority (PHA).The PHA will determine whether the unit is within its jurisdiction. The jurisdiction within which the PHA leases units includes only the incorporated section of the City of Douglas in the State of Arizona. If the unit is within the jurisdiction of the City of Douglas PHA, a Housing Quality Standard inspection will be scheduled within 10 working days.

Units will be inspected for compliance with:
  • City of Douglas PHA adopted additional requirements
  • HUD's Housing Quality Standards
  • National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 74 or its successor standards